RSS Feed

The Eyes Have It

Posted on

I went to the eye doctor yesterday. Overall, it was not that bad. The one thing I was really NOT looking forward to was that BIG puff of air in the eye. Turns out they don’t even use it anymore. Now it is a big blue light that they touch to your eye. You’d think something touching your eye would be worse but it is SOOOO MUCH BETTER!

I had forgotten how bad the dilating drops sting though. “You might feel a little burn” – as I want to rip my eyes out of my head. Once I am sufficiently dilated she says she is going to “check for diabetes in [my] eyes”. She checks and says they look good and I ask her what she was looking for. She says that she was looking for bleeds but most of the time they don’t see them anyway. Unless it is right in the center of your retina (I think) she says you don’t even notice and that they can happen and heal between appointments. According to her, I could have one tomorrow and no one would ever know. Interesting…

She also said that she doesn’t see too many Type I’s around anymore. I’m not sure that is true, but I am glad she at least knew there was a different after reading about George’s experience.

I don’t know if this is odd or not but my eyes stayed super dilated for hours after the appointment. For the first couple hours, it looked like I had no iris (the colored part, right). When I went to bed they were still pretty crazy. I took this picture 4 hours after my appointment. Weird, huh? 🙂

Stay tuned in about a week for a pic of the new glasses…

Oh, and don’t install Internet Explorer 7. It is awful. I did the update and then promptly un-installed it. It doesn’t look good and it is not very user friendly.

2 responses

  1. I am the same way–staying dilated for what seems like forever! It’s kinda cool though 🙂 But, alas, it’s always the most sunny day during the winter with snow on the ground when I have my appointments. Maybe that’s why I moved 3 blocks from my eye doctor–to save me the pain and hazard of driving home!

  2. Pingback: Moments In Review « Moments of Wonderful