RSS Feed

Faith Friday – In the moment

Posted on

Do you replay conversations in your head as much as I do?

I am usually regretting all the things I didn’t say. Sometimes though, there are just conversations that make me smile or laugh because the memory is so good. Those times when someone truly listened to me, when me felt heard. Or even more so, those times when I read something or hear a message and I know it was meant just for me.

That feeling gives me a .0000001% perspective on what it must have felt like for the disciples when they realized they had spent hours traveling down a road with Jesus after his resurrection.

They said to each other, “Didn’t our hearts burn within us as he talked with us on the road and explained the Scriptures to us?”
~ Luke 24:32

How many times do I miss the importance of the moments in front of me because I am so worried about what is coming next? This week my goal is to pay attention.

4 responses

  1. Bang! You nailed it there Sara,
    So much seems to happen while waiting for something bigger. In retrospect it is in those “down” periods I find so many moments of wonderful to reflect on. Here’s to living in and making the most of every moment

  2. Thank you Sara. That is a good reminder to pay attention to what is around us instead of worrying about the future.

  3. Love this, Sara. I’m on that same page and will be trying to live a little more, than trying to reflect/understand/predict so much – translates to missing out. Thanks for sharing this great message.

  4. I think I replay more often when I say things I should not have, or when things went wrong, than when I don’t say things I should have, or when things go right. Though I’ve certainly had my share of positive “special” moments…