RSS Feed

Same as my age – an invisible illness week meme

Posted on

Today is the last day of Invisible Illness Week. Nothing like waiting until the last minute to honor it with a meme.

  1. The illness I live with is: Type 1 diabetes
  2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2003 (February)
  3. But I had symptoms since: possibly Spring 2001, but definitely by April 2002
  4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: putting a little more planning into my activities.
  5. Most people assume: that it is easy because I make this look good
  6. The hardest part about mornings is: knowing that first number is going to determine how I feel for a good part of the day
  7. My favorite medical TV show is: House
  8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: my insulin pump. I mean, I need some sort of insulin delivery system or I truly could not live.
  9. The hardest part about nights is: not being worried about not waking up in the morning.
  10. Each day I take 1 pill(s) & 0 vitamins. I really don’t want to put anything extra into my body that I am already forced to take. My doctor and I discuss what I absolutely need to take.
  11. Regarding alternative treatments I: believe that they can be a supplement but not a replacement for proven medical treatments
  12.  If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: the devil I know instead of the devil I don’t.
  13. Regarding working and career: I love my job but I worry about gaps in insurance when I move on.
  14. People would be surprised to know: about the emotional impact of my illness.
  15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: the theoretical changes to any future family planning.
  16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: travel around the world.
  17. The commercials about my illness: don’t phase me too much but it does annoy me when I feel like certain d-celebrities have sold out.
  18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: have juice (for fun) at breakfast
  19. It was really hard to have to give up: I am not sure. I think my mom has been on a diet my entire life so there wasn’t anything like regular soda that I enjoyed previously.
  20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: blogging and all things social media.
  21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: eat and eat and eat and eat.
  22. My illness has taught me: that some of the greatest things can come from some of the worst situations.
  23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: how well I am controlling my diabetes. I don’t think they know how hard it is to appear to have it all together.
  24. But I love it when people: let me know that they were thinking about me.
  25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Psalm 73:26
  26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: that you can do this.
  27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: the amount of support that is available if you have the time and ability to look for it.
  28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: when a few of my friends brought me a goodie bag in the hospital when I was diagnosed.
  29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I have an invisible illness.
  30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: like you must be really bored. Thirty questions is a lot to get through.

Deep Breath, Start Fresh

3 responses

  1. great meme! I feel the same way about night time. I live alone so its scary sometimes. I try not to think about it, but its really hard not to. I’ve slept through my alarming CGM for a few hours because I was so low, people with significant others have that other person to wake them up!! NOT ME!!!

  2. yay sara! one for every year.

    glad you jumped on the bandwagon too! 😉

  3. #30: I wasn’t bored, just inspired and appreciative that someone like you puts words to so many of the same feelings I have (36 yr/ old type 1 for 1.5ish years)! Sara, you are awesome, thank you for blogging! #14 totally! #24: I’m thinking about you and feeling thankful. :o)

