RSS Feed

My top ten – not funny anymore guys!

Posted on

I have been tagged (again) to do (another) meme. I love all of you – but you have to understand that I HATE memes!!

Rules:

Once you’ve been tagged, you have to write a blog with 10 weird, random, facts, habits or goals about yourself. At the end, choose 6 people to be tagged, list their names & why you tagged them. Don’t forget to leave them a comment saying “You’re it!” & to go read your blog. (Right – sorry not doing this part!)You cannot tag the person that tagged you, so since you’re not allowed to tag me back; let me know when you are done so I can go read YOUR weird, random, facts, habits and goals.

The ten:

  1. I am a very picky eater. It is not by taste though, I have this weird thing about textures. For example, I can’t stand brownies or cookies with nuts in them, but I love brownies and cookies and nuts.  Or I don’t like celery and onions in my potato salad. I think it is the mixture or the unexpected that gets me. Like potato salad is smooth and then all of a sudden you end up with the crunchy piece of celery or your mouth slides across an onion. Bleck!
  2. I used to want to be an actress. Seriously, that is what I wanted to be when I ‘grew up’. I even had headshots taken, but I pretty much gave it up after that point. Ironically enough, there is a scene in Spiderman II where Doc Ock is rampaging in the streets and there is this girl that falls on the roof of a car and screams. She is totally my doppleganger. You know how people tell you that you look like someone and you don’t really see it? I really think I look like this girl. Weird! 
  3. I love to cross-stitch. Yup, I am kinda a nerd, but I never told you any different did I?
  4. I love The Judds. In fact, in the computer class I took in college we had to create a PowerPoint presentation about something, and mine was about them. I read Naomi’s autobiography, love Wynonna’s music, see all of Ashley’s movies. I even have a copy of the made-for-TV movie of Naomi’s book on VHS that I taped from TV. See second sentence of #4.
  5. I don’t rent movies. It costs so much to rent them these days, so I just buy them. Sometimes previously viewed, sometimes not. It makes for a decent sized movie collection. I also have all the seasons of Dawson’s Creek, Gilmore Girls, House, Grey’s Anatomy. I am trying to decided between collecting Alias (nostalgia) or LOST (current).
  6. I think I am becoming a hermit. I hate crowds. I much prefer to buy things online on the chance that I might have to return it than actually go shopping. I much prefer books and movies to going out to clubs or anything like that.
  7. I started this blog to keep my family updated on my life when I moved across the country. They hardly ever read it, and they never comment. One day I was randomly blog hopping and I found the diabetes community. I don’t know that I would have continued blogging if it wasn’t for them. I mean, how long can you keep talking if no one is listening. Like a tree falling in the forest, does a blogger without comments make a noise?
  8. I was born in New York but I had never been to NYC until 2003. We moved when I was a little kid, but even on all our trips back to visit family, I guess it just never really fit with our plans.
  9. I want to get a doctorate degree. I went straight from high school to college to graduate school. I had my masters degree by 24 but I was totally ‘schooled out’. Now I kinda miss being in the classroom. The only problem is that I am not passionate enough about anything to go back and especially write a thesis about it which means I can’t pick a school or a program. But I think about it all the time.
  10. I am counting on the fact that not too many people read blogs on the weekend because I am posting this picture. See #2. 

headshot

Have a great weekend everyone!! 😀

6 responses

  1. Thank you! It was so worth it, at least from my point of view. I totally get the weird textures of food thing. I don’t do the baked good with nuts thing, even though I like both things separately. In that picture you look like you could have auditioned to be on any show that currently runs on Nick at Night!

  2. Cute photo! I enjoyed reading about you this Saturday morning.

  3. I only think it’s a good value to buy a movie if you plan to watch it more than once. I mean, to rent a movie in NJ is $4. To buy a movie is around $10-15. So if I’m only planning to watch it once, why spend $15? I actually do Netflix now, which is great because for $18 I can get as many movies as I can watch in a month and there are no late fees. I’m terrible with returning movies, and I often spend $15 on one movie just because I can never remember to bring it back… I suppose in that way I agree with you, that buying is better than renting. But if you can remember, then it isn’t worth it. But anyway, with Netflix, it’s like $1-$2 a movie for me because I watch so many.

    Oh and your photo is so cute. 🙂

  4. Awesome Pic! I know you hate meme’s but yours are always good.

  5. I’m with you on the renting movies thing. I don’t remember the last time I rented one. But I buy them all the time. When you can get them for $5-$10, why rent them? Plus, I watch them over & over & over again. I love movies!

    We have the “hermit” thing in common, too. That’s an unfortunate thing, isn’t it?

    Love the picture! I would have recognized you anywhere. You haven’t changed a bit!

  6. Your picture is so adorable that Siah just mushed her face against the screen and tried to out-cute you. I think the Sausage is feeling a wee bit threatened. 😉

